The Books I Read In 2022

Grace Huang
8 min readDec 1, 2022

Another year is in! Are you growing wiser? Does your understanding of the world get deeper?

Like other years, it is time to count the books I have read this year and talk about how they changed my life.

How I discovered each of the books was always a moment of serendipity. It appeared to be accidental, but the impact is huge. Different from my previous book reviews for 2020 and 2021, I will also mention how I found them, to add extra fun.

Keeping At It (2018) by Paul Volcker

This book is the autobiography of Paul Volcker, the former chairman of the Federal Reserve from 1979 to 1987.

After multiple failed attempts to curb the high inflation in the 1970s, Volcker was elected. During his tenure, his fearless, decisive, and then controversial policy ended the 14% inflation, which was later coined as the Great Inflation.

Volcker passed away in 2019. This book becomes such a precious legacy in 2022 when the U.S. had the highest inflation in 40 years.

This book provided a great reference when I was writing How Bad Did It Get?. This article went viral from Hacker News, and has been read over 7000 times since I published it in September. It is a hit piece in my book!

--

--

Grace Huang

I write about startups, entrepreneurship, investing, software, hardware and manufacturing.